2026-10-30
8 best UptimeRobot alternatives in 2026, free and paid
- monitoring
- alternatives
- status-page
UptimeRobot's free plan has the most monitors, 50, but checks every 5 minutes, and its status pages get subscribers only on the Team plan. For faster free checks, Checkly and Instatus run every 2 minutes, Better Stack and Uptimepage every 3. For free subscribers, Checkly, Instatus, OneUptime or Uptimepage. To self-host, Uptime Kuma.
UptimeRobot's free plan is 50 monitors at 5-minute checks with one basic status page, and the page describes it as good for personal and commercial projects. Solo, €10 a month or €9 on yearly billing, adds 60-second checks and three status pages on your own domain. Subscribers, login seats and white-label pages wait for Team at €41 a month, or €35 yearly. If the 5-minute free interval or the price of subscribers is the problem, or you would rather run the monitor yourself, these are the eight to compare. Our own side-by-side is Uptimepage vs UptimeRobot.
| Tool | Free-tier monitors | Check interval, free / first paid | Status page on your own domain | Free status page subscribers | First paid tier |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| UptimeRobot (for reference) | 50 | 5 min / 60 s | From Solo | No, from Team | €10/mo, or €9/mo yearly |
| Better Stack | 10 monitors and heartbeats | 3 min / 30 s | Free, as a custom sub-domain | Not stated | $29/mo yearly or $34 monthly, per responder |
| Checkly | 10 | 2 min / 1 min | Paid status page plan, $9/mo yearly | 250 | $24/mo yearly (monitoring) |
| Hyperping | 20 | 5 min / 30 s | From Essentials | No | $24/mo billed yearly ($290/yr) |
| Instatus | 15 | 2 min / 30 s | From Pro | 200 | From $20/mo |
| OneUptime | Manual only; automated checks $1/monitor/mo | None / 1 min, metered | Not stated | 100 | From $22/user/mo |
| StatusCake | 10 | 5 min / 1 min | Not in its monitoring plans | Not in its monitoring plans | €19.99/mo, or €16.66/mo yearly |
| Uptime Kuma | No plan limit, self-hosted | You set it | Yes, on your server | RSS only (as of 2.4.0) | Free; you pay for hosting |
| Uptimepage | 20 | 3 min / 60 s | From Pro | Email and webhook | $9/mo, or $90/yr |
I took every figure from the vendor's own pricing page on 30 October 2026 (for Uptime Kuma, from its repository), and each one is linked in the table and again in its section. UptimeRobot and StatusCake price in the visitor's local currency, so their figures are the euro prices they showed us. I build Uptimepage, one of the eight, which is why the list runs alphabetically instead of as a ranking.
Better Stack
Better Stack makes sense once monitoring turns into incident response. The free plan is smaller than UptimeRobot's, 10 monitors and heartbeats and one status page, but checks every 3 minutes instead of 5, and the free page can use a sub-domain of your own, such as status.yourdomain.com. Note that Better Stack heads its free plan "Free for personal projects", where UptimeRobot's free plan explicitly allows commercial use. Paid use starts with a responder licence at $29 a month on yearly billing, or $34 monthly, which brings 30-second checks, unlimited phone call and SMS alerts, on-call and a status page with 1,000 subscribers; each further 50 monitors is $21 a month on yearly billing. Uptimepage vs Better Stack goes through the differences.
Sources: Better Stack pricing, check frequency docs and status page overview, accessed 30 October 2026.
Checkly
Checkly gives faster free checks than UptimeRobot and a free status page that takes subscribers, but on fewer monitors. The free Hobby plan on its pricing page has 10 uptime monitors at 2-minute checks from 6 locations, and the status page, priced separately, is free with 20 services and 250 email or RSS subscribers. Paid monitoring starts at $24 a month billed annually for 50 monitors at 1-minute checks, and the status page on your own domain is another $9 a month billed annually. The bigger difference is its browser checks, written as Playwright scripts, which suit a team that wants to test sign-up and checkout as well as the homepage.
Source: Checkly pricing, accessed 30 October 2026.
Hyperping
Hyperping's free plan checks every 5 minutes, like UptimeRobot's, on 20 monitors with one basic page and no subscribers, so the reason to switch is the first paid plan. Essentials is $24 a month billed yearly ($290 a year) for 50 monitors at 30-second checks, a status page on your own domain with 100 subscribers, three seats, and alert acknowledgement and escalation. On UptimeRobot, subscribers, seats and 30-second checks start on Team. Hyperping's page summary lists paid plans from $29 a month.
Source: Hyperping pricing, accessed 30 October 2026.
Instatus
Instatus fixes both of the limits above on its free Starter plan: 15 monitors at 2-minute checks and a public status page with 200 subscribers, plus five team members and two on-call members. It has fewer monitors than UptimeRobot's free 50 and no custom domain. Pro, listed "from $20/mo", adds the custom domain, 50 monitors at 30-second checks, 5,000 subscribers, SMS alerts and 50 team members, and Instatus says it charges no per-seat fees.
Source: Instatus pricing, accessed 30 October 2026.
OneUptime
OneUptime prices monitoring per monitor rather than in plan tiers. The cloud Free plan includes one status page with 100 subscribers, manual monitors, incident management, and logs, traces and metrics, and each automated monitor costs $1 a month, so 50 monitors would cost $50 a month at that rate. Growth, from $22 per user, adds unlimited status pages and subscribers and on-call. It can also be self-hosted from its GitHub repository, as a multi-service deployment. We compare the two in Uptimepage vs OneUptime.
Sources: OneUptime pricing and repository, accessed 30 October 2026.
StatusCake
StatusCake is the most like-for-like swap on this list. The free plan has 10 uptime monitors at 5-minute checks plus one page speed, one domain and one SSL monitor. Superior, €19.99 a month or €16.66 on yearly billing, raises that to 100 uptime monitors at 1-minute checks, 15 page speed, 50 domain and 50 SSL monitors, three server monitors and 75 free SMS credits a month, and every plan has a 7-day free trial. Its monitoring plans on that page do not include a status page, so check how StatusCake prices one before you assume it is covered. We compared it with Pingdom in Pingdom vs StatusCake.
Source: StatusCake pricing, accessed 30 October 2026.
Uptime Kuma
Uptime Kuma is the free way off UptimeRobot if you can run a server: MIT-licensed, self-hosted and with no plan limits, because there is no hosted plan and no pricing page. Its latest release when we looked was 2.5.8, from 26 October 2026. When we reviewed version 2.4.0 in July 2026 it could check as often as every second with 94 notification integrations, but it was single-user with one shared login, had no official REST API, and its status pages offered RSS rather than email subscribers. Uptimepage vs Uptime Kuma compares the two, and Uptime Kuma's REST API covers the API gap.
Source: Uptime Kuma repository, accessed 30 October 2026, with feature details from our July 2026 review of version 2.4.0.
Uptimepage
I build Uptimepage, so weigh this accordingly. Against UptimeRobot's free plan, ours has fewer monitors, 20 instead of 50, checked every 3 minutes instead of 5, and the free Standard plan includes what UptimeRobot keeps for Team: status page subscribers by email and signed webhook, and three teammate seats. The free page lives on an uptimepage.dev subdomain and shows a "Powered by Uptimepage" line. Pro, $9 a month or $90 a year, gives 50 monitors at 60-second checks from 13 regions, two status pages on your own domain with subscribers, five teammates and no badge, where UptimeRobot Solo has no subscribers. Monitors and pages can be managed through a REST API, a Terraform provider and an MCP server. The trade-offs: 30-second checks need our $19 Team plan, SMS alerts on paid plans use your own SMS provider, and the free tier is smaller. The code is AGPL if you would rather self-host.
Source: Uptimepage pricing, accessed 30 October 2026.
Common questions
Is UptimeRobot free for commercial use?
Its pricing page says yes: the free plan is described as good for personal and commercial projects, with 50 monitors at 5-minute checks and no credit card. Paid features such as 60-second checks and a status page on your own domain start on Solo.
Which UptimeRobot alternative has the fastest free checks?
Checkly and Instatus, at 2 minutes on their free plans. Better Stack and Uptimepage check every 3 minutes for free, and Hyperping and StatusCake every 5, the same as UptimeRobot. On self-hosted Uptime Kuma you set the interval yourself.
Can UptimeRobot's free status page use my own domain?
No. UptimeRobot's plan comparison marks your own domain as not included on the free plan, and Solo adds it with three status pages. Status page subscribers start on Team, the plan above Solo.
Is there a self-hosted UptimeRobot alternative?
Yes. Uptime Kuma is the best known: free, MIT-licensed and run on your own server. OneUptime and Uptimepage can be self-hosted too, and both let status page visitors subscribe by email, which Uptime Kuma did not when we last reviewed it.